• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Bird 43 slugs

lerch256

Dec 6, 2010
Bama
Hello again:

I was wondering if anyone could explain to me the difference in a bird 43 elements that are for 2-30mhz vs the 25-60mhz as far as covering the 27mhz cb band or are there not any difference for that mhz thanks alot sorry for the poor punctuation 73's

Both will cover the 27mhz band. One is just higher frequencies than the other. That is the only difference.
And no there shouldn't be any difference in the coverage as far as 27mhz goes.
Hope this helps. Have a good one.

Reactions: lerch256
Ok thanks man I was looking at buying a few more I was thinking they both should work perfectly fine but just wanted to ask since I have no experience with a bird 43 I really appreciate it 222DBFL

Hello again:

I was wondering if anyone could explain to me the difference in a bird 43 elements that are for 2-30mhz vs the 25-60mhz as far as covering the 27mhz cb band or are there not any difference for that mhz thanks alot sorry for the poor punctuation 73's
Let's say if a C.B. radio is throwing a nasty 54 mHz harmonic, would this appear (ghost watts) on a meter with the 25-60 mHz slug in place?
Would the harmonic content not register with the 2-30 mHz slug?
Will the 54 mHz signal still pass through the meter, & just not register as increased output?

Last edited:
Let's say if a C.B. radio is throwing a nasty 54 mHz harmonic, would this appear (ghost watts) on a meter with the 25-60 mHz slug in place?
Will the 54 mHz signal still pass through the meter, & just not register as increased output?

Which do you prefer Leapfrog 2-30mhz or 25-60mhz for the cb band and why?

Interesting thought. I would guess that the 56 mHz would still be measured, just not as accurately if it was out of the slugs bandwidth.