• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Cobra 148GTL low TX power in all modes

2CN319

Day after Day after Day
Apr 1, 2012
Southern Utah
Hiya Guys! New guy on the forum, I'm a pretty good radio tech, but this one kinda has me stumped since I'm new to this particular radio. I have a Texas Ranger TR-296GK, basically a Cobra 148GTL, with low TX power in all modes. What happened is..I was monitoring 38 LSB for a friend, and dozed off, and accidentally hit the lock button on my Turner desk mic and left it keyed down for an extended period of time. When I woke up, the radio was scorching hot, so I turned it off, figuring that I had toasted my finals, and went back to sleep. The next morning I tested it, and it works in all modes, just with greatly reduced power. I went from 20-25 watts LSB down to about 8, and a 10 watt AM carrier down to about 2. The audio on transmit still sounds good, and all modes still work, USB,LSB, AM. It doesnt drift on frequency, and receives great as ever. VR10 and VR11 have no effect on power output at all anymore. Any ideas? Thanks guys!

Hard to say, you might try posting in the radio tech and modifications section. I would say send it in but since you like to do your own work it's I don't know what to say.

Oops..

I had a feeling a might have posted in the wrong section.. :redface: Would any of the mods be kind to a newb and put this post where it belongs? I'm not much for sending radios in, I've heard enough horror stories to make me just think about buying another radio if something goes seriously wrong that I cant fix, and I've brought some pretty beat up radios back from the graveyard that have had the touch of "the golden screwdriver". Thanks again guys!

Hello, welcome to the forum.