• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

cobra 29 ltd classic , and orginal starduster for home base,, need help.

itsonlysir

Feb 5, 2009
hello all , thanks for takeing time to read this . im very very new to cb's , like as in a week into learning .. the 29ltd classic ( Mobil unit) i have has had a ecko board and it has been peeked and tuned .. i will be getting a swing kit installed , the guy says he can get 35-40 watts out of it for me ....
but i met a old guy that had a original m400 starduster ( from wayback ) it was brand new in the box , and never had been put together..

my set up ,,
i have the 29 hooked to a car battery temporarily, and i have ( rg58 cu ) coax cable at a 60 foot length . the antenna is on a 10 foot mass ( aluminum pipe ) and screwed right into the treads on the antenna , i have the mass pipe mounted to the very top of a 4x4 that is part of my privacy fence, so the part of the antenna that screw into the mass pipe is about 15 feet off the ground .\( it will be mounted on the top of my two story house but id rather get it working right before mounting it up there.

i cant really hear anyone , i can barley hear them its like muffled alot ..
and i havent been able to get a radiocheck back at all ..:headbang:headbang

ok so now you know what i am looking at .. i have a few questions ..

do i need to ground this antenna ?

do i need to ground the Mobil 29 ltd classic ??

the antenna does not seam to have any place to tune it , soo how do i adjust for swr ??

is my problem that the antenna is not high enough in the air ?

any info would be great , i have a swr meter , i will do some checks and post them in a few mins ,,,
thanks for any and all help ,,,

ok i beleave im doing this correctly but not 100% sure , so imma describe what i am doing