• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Cobra 29 LTD Classic Problems : Weak Receive, No Transmit

office888

Jun 8, 2009
Hartford, MI
Hello,

I'm pretty not new to CB radios, but I am new to fixing them.

I got a Cobra 29 LTD Classic off of a friend of mine. It powered up okay, the display only works on bright, but I didn't think it was a huge problem.

I tested it a spare antenna and with my existing car rig (Cobra 19 + Wilson Antenna). The Cobra 29 receives very poorly. Sound is very weak and full of static when I key. Even with squelch all the way off, and gain all the way up, I still can't get the speaker to produce any regular static.

Transmit is another story. When I key, I hear the pop of the key activating and my Cobra 19 goes silent like someone is transmitting, but it won't transmit any of my voice.

Help?

Thanks,
Richard

Sounds like it could be the audio chip. Can you test the PA function?

Just tested it, no output at all.

Bad audio chip then?

"NPC 9222
D2816C" - the audio chip?

Also, would it interfere with anything if I removed the internal speaker and replaced it with a small 12V-switched fan? I wanna peak&tune this unit to get a bit more "umph" out of it. I've been into computers for a while, and I know heat is the bane of electronics.

It's going to go in my 90' Audi 80 "Wintertastic Rallybeater" with a Wilson-1000 probably.

-Richard-

Just tested it, no output at all.

Bad audio chip then?

"NPC 9222
D2816C" - the audio chip?

Also, would it interfere with anything if I removed the internal speaker and replaced it with a small 12V-switched fan? I wanna peak&tune this unit to get a bit more "umph" out of it. I've been into computers for a while, and I know heat is the bane of electronics.