• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Cobra 29 PLX problem

GregDAP

Jun 11, 2012
Colton, CA
I just installed a brand new Cobra 29 PLX in my truck and it receives incoming signals but I can't hear any audio. With squelch all the way to the left and RF gain up all the way I get very faint static but no talk. RF meter shows strong incoming signals. Switch to PA and nothing either. Radio is brand new. Antenna is 5' firestik and is tuned, SWR is below 1.5 on channel 1, 20 and 40. 18' foot firering coax cable. Any thoughts on what could be wrong??:unsure: Thanx

I am a bit of a noob.:blush:

Off hand I would double check the radio settings. Next try a different mic. And last maybe plug an external speaker in and see.

thanks for the reply. I heard the Cobra mics were not very good and was going to upgrade. I have an old midland mic I can try. I will double check radio setting and try external speaker.

Double checked radio setting, all good. Thanks for the heads up on the midland mic. Like I said I'm a newbe. Couldn't get a hold of another cobra mic.

I plugged an external speaker in and RX audio is loud and clear. so is there something wrong with the internal speaker?? I don't really want to use an external speaker.

Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.

Or should I send it back for warranty service.:censored:

So all is well with an external speaker? If so that's not bad I always use an external speaker. The sound quality is much better.