• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

cobra 29

crmzendrgone

CB newbie
Nov 29, 2010
M town Arizona
I am sure this is been asked before and I tried the search option but nothing came up for cobra 29.

Any way I have a Wilson lil wil antenna that I recently got a longer whip(?) for and need to understand how to set/check the swr.

When I use the meter on the CB if I am reading it right it shows a 2 I think that is bad so do I need to lower the antenna or raise it?

I am really new to the CB radio thing so I don't understand a lot of the vocab but am willing and wanting to learn!!!!

Thanks ahead of time!!!

Thanks for the fast reply and good info in those articles.

So reading those articles, I need an external SWR meter the one installed in the radio now is not as accurate?

The one in the radio will get you close enough to be safe, assuming that noone has messed around with the meter calibration on the inside.

Why did you get a longer stinger for the Lil Wil? That antenna is made for the length of stinger it comes with.

I starting talking to a guy over the CB when I just had a radioshack CB and we did some trades I got the 29 from him he set my SWR for the radio shack CB but he was saying the readings were wanting the antenna taller and he already had it at the very end of the mount so. he got a longer whip(?) from another brand antenna. I ground the diameter down to fit in the wilson mount. but he knew it would be to long and need some triming.

The thing is I havent been able to find him again and I lost his phone number. I know where he lives but I am not sure he still lives there seeing as that was about a year ago.(yes I just barely got to putting that whip on). And when I drive by I do not see his BIG A$$ antenna on his roof.