• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Dipole Question

Hurricane95

Oct 28, 2015
Waterloo, IA
Hey all, I am considering mounting a dipole on the roof of my house. It's a 2 story and probably close to 20ft off the ground at the peak.

First question: Will it adversely affect the antenna to be surface mounted for either transmit or receive?

Second question: would it work best for SSB horizontally mounted or in an Inverted V?

Third and final question: Is there a magic length to be resonant on all or most bands from 80-10? Would I be better off getting a tuner and just making a convenient length to fit the roof profile?

I'm really new to the amateur radio, just got my Tech a couple weeks ago and awaiting my first HF radio to ship. I just want to do everything right and have it work well the first time.

Congrats on getting your license!

Ideally you want to get the dipole in the clear but I've been in situations where the only solution to operate was a perimeter wire or dipole laying on the roof. It will work as long as the house and roof are wood construction and there's not a lot of metal close to interact with.

Since you're a Tech and have 10 meter privileges I'd cut the dipole for 40 meters. Then with a tuner it will be pretty easy to tune it to 20, 15 to listen in and 10 for transmitting. You should also be able to get close enough with a the tuner to listen on 80. You can always add length to the ends later if you upgrade your license and want to use 75/80 meters.

Reactions: Atlasta and 2RT307
First question: Will it adversely affect the antenna to be surface mounted for either transmit or receive?

Second question: would it work best for SSB horizontally mounted or in an Inverted V?