• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

HeathKit sb220

four6zero

Apr 5, 2005
Just purchase sb220 from an estate sale of widow, I was told that I needed a switch to kick the amplifiers relay on?
I always thought that the watts from the exciter will trigger the sb220 on..
What is it that I dont know, and what do I need to know.
If I need a switch, what does it hook up to? and is the switch called a switch or a trigger switch?
Oh yeah, I'm new to this..
Any help will be appreciated..

You can buy a foot keyer to key the amplifier. You can find them on e-bay sometimes for about $20.00. Heil Sound www.heilsound.com also sells a foot keyer that will work. I've heard that some people will add a relay inside their transceiver to key the amp. The easiest way is to use the amp with an amateur radio, most have a keying relay in them. Just make sure that there is a "soft key" circuit installed in the amp before connecting it to a modern transceiver or you will burn up the transceiver pretty quick. You can get them from www.harbachelectronics.com. Good luck and be careful if you have to go inside that amp for anything. Whatever you do, do not on turn that amplifier with the cover off! If it has the safety switch installed you will burn out the rectifier board and have a transformer meltdown. A better word of advise is "Do Not Have the Amplifier Plugged in with the Cover Off" There are lethal voltages in there that can Kill You!!. There is a wealth of information out there on that amplifier, take your time and do some web searches. Enjoy!!
73's
Triple J

These type amps normally dont have an rf sensing circuit(keying circuit).You can have one installed.
Most amateur radios have a jack on the back and you connect it to the jack on the back of the amplifier and when you key the radio it keys the amp.