• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

How many truckers are running VHF ? Is CB dying ?

nobody123

Feb 26, 2012
I know VHF isn't CB, but I suspect that some truckers hang out here, so I'll ask it here.

How many truckers are running VHF instead of or in addition to CB ? How many are not running CB at all ?

I ask because I was recently on a long night trip in bad and very bad weather.

I was frequently politely calling out to oncoming trucks for weather and road condition information. The reply rate was about 1 truck in 10. I expected higher.

What gives ?

Thanks

Reactions: Slowmover

Being a driver I can honestly say CB isn't what it used to be as like whiskey said with cell phones,GPS,etc.....most truckers leave them off unless they come up on a traffic jam or when near scale house's.Mine is on as long as I'm in the truck but not many do the same.

Reactions: 1 person
Driving across the US several times, I can say that having/using a CB was absolutely indispensable. Had a great time chatting away with the truckers. Makes the journey easier and much safer too. Those truckers really know the roads, will warn about speed traps, and every best place to eat too. Wouldn't drive that far without a CB. No way.

Out here in Ca there is plenty of CB traffic on ca 99, I 5, I 580 ....lots in fact.
They run ch 17, 15 or 19 depending on were you are in the state.
Just about anytime day or night you can find drivers on the air around the major freeways.

Jeff

Reactions: NZ8N and Slowmover
I drive locally (less than 200 miles from home) and run both CB and an HF ham rig.
The CB is for talking to equipment operators at rock crushers and the scale houses.
And also on the job sites too. We build oil and gas well drill sites and it is necessary