• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Looking for an antenna tuner

338_MtRushmore

Jun 17, 2012
The Dakotas
I would like to get an antenna tuner so I have the option of running wire and balanced line and such. I guess I am looking for an old tuner that can be found under $200 that preferably has a balun, and antenna selector switch. It doesn't have to be kw rated, but stand up to anything a radio can throw at it.
Any recommendations for what to keep an eye out for?

ETA If I need something different than I think I do, feel free to let me know. I really have no idea, I'm just learning to bluff right now.

Last edited:

Klondike Mike has a good deal on an older version of the MFJ-949E. The Dentrons are nice if you can find one.

I have a 949e and I think it's a rock solid manual tuner. I would suggest a newer version because the power meter is updated with a cross needle type and needs no pre-calibration.

These tuners are rated up to 300 watts, they have a handy dummy load built in along with a 4:1 balun for wire antennas.

Shop around because they can be had new for $150.

H0-001313A.jpg

1345511.jpg

For Sale: Dentron MT-2000A Antenna Tuner
In good working condition. Front face, inside, and rear panel look great. Top scratched up from other things stacked on it. $175 shipped to the lower 48. PayPal(+3%) preferred but will take other payment types.
Listing #1345511 by K7YK
Last Edited on 09/26/17
Submitted on 09/13/17
Submitted from c-24-19-242-213.hsd1.wa.comcast.net

1347147.jpg

Click Here to Enlarge Photo
mdoc.gif
ANTETUNE - Dentron G:T-1000C antenna tuner
Great condition and great working Dentron 1000C,1000 Watt antenna tuner. Asking $150.00 plus shipping. Payment via paypal.
Listing #1347147 by WZ1F
Submitted on 09/25/17

Drake MN-2700