1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Messanger m4v

Discussion in 'Amplifiers' started by 3006, Dec 27, 2016.

?

Can I use battery and battery charger to power

  1. Yes

    1 vote(s)
    33.3%
  2. No

    2 vote(s)
    66.7%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. 3006

    3006
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can I use a 800 CCA battery and 10 amp charger running to use this amp to broke for power supply with Christmas and all have had amp for almost a year dying to use it.


     

  2. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    673
    You can but I wouldn't.
     
    222DBFL likes this.
  3. 3006

    3006
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's kinda what I was thinking I'm running g a varmint xl-150 now don't quite have the giddy up the messenger has.still pretty new to the radio world so I appreciate all advice
     
  4. 2FB327

    2FB327
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    35
    If it's in a mobile, yeah. But not inside a home,
     
  5. 222DBFL

    222DBFL
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3,137
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Like said you can, but you risk a lot doing so. Your health as well as the amp not having enough voltage and amperage. Get a couple of MegaWatt 50 amp power supplies and run that thing right. Good amp as long as you don't overdrive it!! And it needs some amps and good voltage. JMHO's. Read up about using car batteries indoors. Not a good idea. Anyways. If this is a base, focus your attention to getting the antenna setup as best as you possibly can and don't skimp out. And that goes for the coax and all other related needed parts. It pays to have a good antenna setup. You'll find you don't need a bunch of power when you have a good antenna setup. And with the DX being dead, if the conditions aren't there, doesn't matter how many watts you're running. Just some food for thought. But truly, focus all your attention on your anrenna system and you'll see what a good one can do. Good day.
     
  6. 543_Dallas

    543_Dallas
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    673
    The reason I say no is because there are too many variables. The battery charger output not being filtered is one if them. Old chargers that use a transformer might put a nasty hum in your audio. Modern chargers can cause switching noise (static) in the RX.

    I wouldn't have any kind of battery big enough to run an amplifier in my house. If youre set up out in the garage theres probably no harm in it as long the doors open and you are getting fresh air.

    If you do it put the thing in one if those plastic boxes for a trolling motor battery. It cost about 8 bucks and will keep the acid contained if it leaks or blows up. It will also keep you from dropping something on it and shorting out the posts.

    Finally is voltage regulation. Its unlikely yoi will hurt the amplifier with low voltage but use a cheap volt meter to keep an eye on things. I still dont recommended using a battery but it will work. Just be aware of the risks and use some common sense.
     
    222DBFL likes this.
  7. 3006

    3006
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I appreciate all the good info I'm gonna order a power supply from smokin Joe in a week or so I really don't want anything going boom in the radio shack!
     
  8. scrufy

    scrufy
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    If I remember right, that amp requires 60 Amps. Don't remember if that is nominal or max but look it up and don't try and go less. If 60 is max, then get a simple 70 amp switcher with a variable voltage. Most of them are pretty clean now a days and check to be sure once you power it up. Just turn everything on and put your radio on side band and spin the dial. If there is a harmonic or oscillation you'll hear it. Just tweak the voltage slightly to move the signal away from where you operate.
    If you go with a linear supply, no worries at all.
    If 60 is nominal, you need more.
    Also- Lead acid batteries also create hydrogen gas. Didn't see anyone mention it but add that to the list of reasons not to.
    I didn't even know they were still around. I had an M4V in about the early 90s. It was pretty good. Never had a problem being heard in my mobile. Have fun - be safe it can bite you :)
     
    222DBFL likes this.
  9. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt
    Expand Collapse
    Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13,566
    Likes Received:
    4,784
    Not only does a charging (or heavily discharging) battery emit explosive hydrogen it also emits extremely corrosive hydrogen sulfide gas which can and will corrode almost anything metallic it comes in contact with.
     
    222DBFL likes this.
  10. 222DBFL

    222DBFL
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3,137
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Like I said before, a couple of MegaWatt 50 amp power supplies run in parallel, which they are capable of doing without the need for any other parts, would be the way to go. Plenty of headroom and yoo can run all your equipment off them. Better to have more amperage than you need then to have not enough!!! JMHO.
     
  11. 3006

    3006
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well I have come to realize I should probably put this amp in my mobile I have a 04 Pontiac Montana my only issue is I'm limited to a magnet mount I have a Wilson 2000 trucker antenna with a magnetic base mount standing wave is less than 1.5 is this a Terrible idea I'd drill the hole but next summer I'm upgrading to a jeep
     

Share This Page