• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Midland 75-822 mod

Kitten308

Feb 20, 2012
Ok, I am a newbie for sure, but I have looked far and long for this 120 mod for this radio, yeah there is a few on youtube but they are in Spanish or some other, I am english, I did open my radio and I did try to follow along but looking at the board I didn't see that little thing they remove on my 75-822, but I am thinking it says rev.1 on their board and mine says rev.2 so what exactly do I need to make this switch from the 40 channel to the 120 channel. I did print off the thing from Bill's CB looks close but I want to be sure.

Please let me know guys and girls.

I am from Canada, and I am pretty sure the FCC laws won't apply to me.

Thanks

Denis

Reactions: 1 person

Just did my 75-820 for 40H and 40L beyond the normal 40. Just a few notes though:

The solder pads listed on Bill's 2 Way page are NOT marked on the PCB as A B C D. Mine was completely blank and I relied on other information on the web, This link.

One word of caution, I did this mod on a 75-820, some 75-822 (newer version), it may not work. I believe the solder pads have either been removed or the microchip doesn't support the expanded frequency coverage.

Another note: there's some sort of protective film or plastic that covers the pads, I had to heat and scrape away 2-3 layers of film to get the solder to "stick" on jumpers position 3 (as shown in the link I posted) to get the mod to work. I will post photos in the morning of what my board looked like before,and after with the mod, when there is more sunlight, the flash on my camera washes everything out.

73's

Reactions: mike2464
Hi,