1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Need to test APRS messaging

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by KC8CAY, Aug 18, 2012.

  1. KC8CAY

    KC8CAY
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,
    I have had my VX-8R for a few years now and I am still in love with it. However, I have never been able to receive an APRS message. After reading and watching threads from Moleculo and various contributors, I believe the issue is I have no friends, lol.
    I tried send some cw messages to various users in my area based on APRS.fi but no return hellos. Would anyone on here mind sending me an APRS message so I can see what it looks like via the VX-8?
    Ben
    KC8CAY-7



    73's and much thanks!
     

  2. KC8CAY

    KC8CAY
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok not all at once please, lol. Also, anyone know a great site that explains the APRS beacons and gates and such in the terms like the "for dummies" books?
     
  3. KJ4RHB

    KJ4RHB
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just tried sending you a couple of messages through my iGate.

    You are also welcome to contact me... I'll reply if I get a message from you.
     
  4. KC8CAY

    KC8CAY
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still nothing :(
     
  5. KC8CAY

    KC8CAY
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can see your message on aprs.fi but not on my vx-8r
     
  6. KJ4RHB

    KJ4RHB
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do you normally show-up on APRS when you send position data?

    Where are you located? Is there an iGate or Digi nearby?

    If you show-up on Aprs.fi just fine when moving around with your HT. Try sending me a message to see if it makes it to me.

    I also have the VX-8R - so I could check my settings. But from what I remember, there really wasn't a setting to enable or disable messaging. It just works. The only thing I set was to have the strobe flash on incoming messages.
     
  7. kc0zps

    kc0zps
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    I sent you one also, but doesn't your radio need to be on in order to receive a message? I'm not going to lie -- sending messages via APRS has always been cumbersome for me.
     
  8. KJ4RHB

    KJ4RHB
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Messages can be held at the local iGate until a station comes back into range.

    But, they can also timeout... after x amount of time.

    I think it all depends on the setup.
     
  9. KC8CAY

    KC8CAY
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got 1 message from a W8MLO. It seems the settings are fine, the path is just cumbersome. I live in Columbus, Ohio so I am learning about iGates and digi's each day I can.
     
  10. KJ4RHB

    KJ4RHB
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well, I pulled-up the map for Columbus, Ohio. There are plenty of Digi's, D-Star, and other repeaters in close proximity, as well as a local APRS iGate.

    You should be able to transmit and receive APRS just fine.
     

Share This Page