• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

New To Cb's Help me out

Apr 13, 2011
First off, im pretty new to cb's. I dont really know what squelch is or how to adjust it, but ill read up on this site and figure it out. I have a question about trouble shooting, and question about how to set up my radio.

A while ago i bough a Cobra 19 ultra for my baja bug while im out wheelin with my buddies. I had a cheap magnet antenna. I could hear my friend talk just fine, but he could only hear me sometimes. He said all he would hear is a "beeeep" when i would talk. I looked his radio over, whcih is a Cobra 19 dx IV. I unplugged his mic and plugged it back in and it started working, but not for long. So why is it beeping? Is that on my side?
Both of us had a tunable antenna, but neither of us are tuned, or at least not that we know of. He has a firestick II.

My second question is, what kind of antenna would work good for my radio. I lost my magnet base for my old antenna while out wheelin, so i want to get a new one. I want one that will work good with my current cb, but would also work good if i plan on upgrading my cb. What would you guys suggest?
I was thinking a firestick II, but thats just because my neighbore has one and i like the look of them. But im more about function then form. So what kind of antenna?

Again, i really dont have much knowledge on cb's. I know some have to be tuned and some dont. I know you can get a lot of extra stuff for them, like power mic's, amps (which amplify the speaker?) and i know i need to get a SWR meter to tune my radio. but other than that, im a noob.
Oh, and just for kicks, here's the baja (and i jsut want to show it off b/c i just painted it)
DSCN0134.jpg

wecome to the wonderful world of cb.
the firestick is a ok antenna. i like the wilson silverload fgt