• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Newbie!!

oreopenguin536

Aug 12, 2017
Hey everyone I'm new to this whole cb radio thing but I have a feeling I am about to get heavily invested into it;). I was wondering if someone could give me the basics of everything, a rundown of sorts I guess, Callsigns, best gear to get, what to say and not say etc etc

currently I'm trying to get a cobra 148gtl, The old school one. This would deb my first rig and I hear it's what everyone wants? Thats about all I know! Help me out! :)

Good choice. I'd recommend one that has been re-capped, cleaned, and aligned for best results. Also, don't scrimp on the antenna; buy the best one for best results. Be sure to mount it as high and SAFE as you can. Get a power supply that doesn't have a lot of self-noise. That should get you off and running . . . welcome to the forum . . .

Get a linear type (not switching type) power supply such as an older Astron. 5 amp CCS/7amp ICAS, Amps rating is plenty and can run accessories. The Cobra 148 is a fine radio. These hear stations as good as the best new ham radios. Perhaps a Turner +3 microphone would be a good addition. Turner +3 has the internal speech compressor. Now, using four watts limits to local contact. For skip you will be calling out forever without a contact. It s illegal, but a 100 watt amp will make long haul (skip) contracts. 100 watt solid-state needs a 20 amp power supply. 200 watt solid-state needs 35 amp power supply. Tube type amps have a built-in power supply.

I have a buddy who actually got me into it, he said he could sell me a 500 watt computer or something like that? He said if he turned it on it would take so much power it would start to slow his truck down from the power draw or what ever. Anyway he is trying to sell it to me, good buy?