• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Noob to tubes- Maco 200

dozerman

hello, its me again
Dec 16, 2013
milan tennessee
Hello all. I hope I'm posting this in the right forum. I am brand new to tube amplifiers. I've always run transistor amps and can get my way thru one of them decently. I moved to west Tennessee a while back and everyone here runs tubes. So when in Rome... ok so I bought a Maco 200 to learn on. Box still looks new! I had to recap it, as it had a bad hum over the air. After, audio was clean. But I had bad reflection. Swr was 1.2 with amp keyed on high and would swing to 1.7 or 2. Wasn't long one of the tubes was glowing. The plate I mean. And soon there after, shot sparks. Coincidentally, my swr dropped when that happened. Bought another 8950 and put it in. Let it cook, and keyed the amp to tune. Swr was back up. And after a while, it's plate would start glowing. There is a faint blue-ish light coming from inside of it too when I modulate. My question... I've got two tuning controls, I assume, one on the bottom back and one beside two of the final tubes. The one by the tubes will raise and lower the key and the one in the back doesn't really do much. What are their functions and how can I keep from popping these expensive tubes! Thanks in advance

This model is a hot rod with no "OFF" switch for the nitrous bottle.

The driver stage is what's called a 'grid driven' circuit that requires much less drive power than the more-common "grounded grid" circuit found in nearly every other CB base amplifier. This also makes it more sensitive to unwanted feedback problems, since it takes a lot less "leakage" from the final tubes' output power back into the driver to make it misbehave.