• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Pullin the Trigger on Tuesday

W1MSG

Now W1MSG
May 9, 2010
MA
Well I guess I will be pulling the trigger on a new radio on Tuesday, gonna drive up to HRO in Salem and see what I come home with.

I am thinking the FT-857D and the AT-30 Tuner, should be able to do both for just under 1k ..

Any recommendations are welcome as I havent committed as of yet, I was looking at the review on the FT-897 and if I did that I would have to wait on the tuner a bit longer. I have a G5VR Jr antenna for 10 to 40 meter, still havent taken the General test yet and I don't plan on doing CW, I have tried to learn it but my head has been rattled by too many IED's and I just cant seem to get it.

So Fire away with the suggestions, remember I am a poor soldier boy...

:pop:

ft857d

I have a ft857d for 3 years now...super all bands and no trouble with it. Since you are using a computer<obvious>, if you get it and want to work digital modes,,go to ebay and look up ft857d cable or digital, a chap in England sells the cable which plugs into the data connection and run it to your pc...turn off alc in your ft857d, and use fldigi <free> and work digital modes....if you get a ft857d let me know and I will send you my settings for digital work...

DOCTOR/795

http://cgi.ebay.com/PSK31-Interface...tem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item563750014e

All I have to say is, if you get the 857D, buy the RT Systems cable and programming software, it will work with Ham Radio Deluxe(the cable) and it makes programming freqs a lot easier. The 857 is a compact mobile all mode rig, with all the menu driven stuff the HRD software makes it a lot better to use as a base radio. Good luck on the General test.