1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Rf and Oil pressure gauge

Discussion in 'Amplifiers' started by DR456, Apr 8, 2017.

  1. DR456

    DR456
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hey DX Land. I have a 2003 Chevy avalanche. Uniden radio and 225 w. Box. Here is the deal. When I key up with the linear on hi or lo power. My oil pressure gauge drop to zero and the warning bell started digging. I think it's rf but I'm looking for a fix.


     

  2. 2RT307

    2RT307
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,218
    Likes Received:
    669
    I had a little two pill that used to make my defroster light and windshield wipers come on in my Dakota. Ground it!

    73,
    Brett
     
  3. loosecannon

    loosecannon
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,640
    Likes Received:
    867
    engine block itself needs to be main grounding tie in for rest of vehicle.
    bond engine block to frame, firewall, hood, and battery negative with copper braid.
    LC
     
    222DBFL likes this.
  4. Sarasota Slim

    Sarasota Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    143
    I also have an '03 Avalanche. It's plagued with a host of minor electrical gremlins. I haven't even put a radio in it, yet.

    The problem with modern vehicles, is that they don't really have gauges anymore. They, at best, have digital readouts that are presented in a simulated analog display.

    Where, in the truck, is your power source for your amp? It could be that your amp is pulling power from your oil system electronics.
     
  5. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,151
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    You can do all this, but will still likely persist. Probably need to trace out the wires to the sensor and bead it up. And even that will likely not help.
     
    Captain Kilowatt likes this.
  6. nomadradio

    nomadradio
    Expand Collapse
    Analog Retentive

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    618
    Taking power directly from the battery has fixed a few of these for us. Trouble is, there's no way to predict in advance what difference (if any) it will make.

    A separate hot and ground PAIR for each, the radio and the amplifier seems to work better. Just be sure that every wire that taps off the positive side of the battery has a fuse or breaker AT THE TAPOFF POINT!

    Serves to protect the wire from setting the vehicle on fire. The fuse on the radio or amplifier only protects that piece of the system. Any wire that taps off the battery MUST have its own separate protection as close to the battery terminal as possible.

    73
     
    Mudduckmobile likes this.
  7. camaro1

    camaro1
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    341
    i will agree with MUDFOOT , start at the oil pressure sensor, its behind the intake manifold at the back of the engine on that vehicle, wrap the sensor and the harness as far as you can go with some type of shielding tape, pretty sure 3m makes some,
     
  8. 9C1Driver

    9C1Driver
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,901
    Likes Received:
    680
    RF does funny things in a mobile. Over the years I have seen wipers turn on, talkback through the stereo speakers, rear defroster turn on, and strobe lights on a tow truck that were off turn on.

    All you can do is try several things and hope something works. Run a properly tuned radio, no clipped limiter. Don't over drive the amp. Make sure the amp is properly grounded and your install is done right. (fuses,proper gage wire, soldered and shielded connections) Some times you have to re-route coax and power lines. You might have to change where your antenna is mounted and keep the coax away from your dash. Make sure the jumper on the amp is good, a bad jumper will leak RF all over.

    Where is your antenna mounted on the vehicle?
     
  9. scout943

    scout943
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    28
    Gotta love today's over computerised junk !
     
    Sarasota Slim likes this.
  10. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt
    Expand Collapse
    Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    14,369
    Likes Received:
    5,686
    That is one thing I like about my 2012 Tundra Crew Max. It has a full complement of analog gauges including speedometer, tach, engine temp, engine oil pressure, transmission temp, battery voltage, and fuel gauge.
     
  11. Sarasota Slim

    Sarasota Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    143
    Real analog gauges? That's amazing. I don't think my 80's era Chevy van even has analog gauges. Though, I could be wrong. Never had to check.
     
  12. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt
    Expand Collapse
    Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    14,369
    Likes Received:
    5,686
    Yup. After I posted that I had to look at them again just to make sure I wasn't lying. LOL You can see the shadow of the needle behind it when you shine a light on the gauge and you can see the centre of the gauge that holds the needle actually move. Someone on tundratalk.net was complaining about having analog gauges and he was laughed at and chided for wanting digital gauges. :LOL:
     
  13. w9cll

    w9cll
    Expand Collapse
    W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,887
    Likes Received:
    1,504
    Maybe get rig of the amp?
     
  14. Ranch55

    Ranch55
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    27
    This is my "fix".... I had several electronic type issues on my 2015 GMC Sierra.
    After installing within 18" of the antenna coax feed point, all is well.
    And also look at the one from DX Engineering. More expensive, but even better.

    MFJ-915
    RF ISOLATOR, 1.8-30MHZ, 1500W PEP
    [​IMG]
    Click Image For Larger Picture
    MFJ-915$ 29.95 Each


    [​IMG]
     
  15. vkrules

    vkrules
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    522
    All the filters and ferrite in the world wont fix it if there is RF inside the CAB.
     
    jessejamesdallas likes this.

Share This Page