• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Which antenna tuner would be better manual or automatic

boxcar112

Apr 13, 2010
Hello i'm new to this hf ham stuff I was wondering could some body help me out on telling me which antenna tuner would be better a manual or automatic one.The tuners i'm looking at are a mfj 948 and a ldg at200 pro.The tranciever I will be useing is a kenwood ts450s and the antenna I will be useing is a 10 thru 80 meters g5rv.I know there is better tuners on the market and antennas but i'm on a limited budget.I also wanted to know should I use a balun on the g5rv to keep rf off the sheild of the coax if a balun is recommended what one would be the best to use.The only power I will be running is what the radio put outs I might get a amplifier later in the future.

Why don't you just use a regular dipole antenna rather than a G5RV?

Your choice. Manual tuners are less complex, therefor, less stuff to break. They usually can take more wattage too. However, if you surf the bands a lot, you'll find yourself tuning more than talking.

Personally I prefer a manual tuner unless I am mobile or want to mount the tuner at the antenna feedpoint and then I want a remote auto tuner. Manual tuners will handle more power generally than an auto tuner will. There are very few auto tuners on the market that will handle more than a couple hundred watts.

I own both auto and manual tuners and just call me old school but I prefer the manual tuner. I can usually tune anything manually. The autos can be less forgiving and they're more expensive. The MFJ-962D is a good choice and handles 1.5 kw so you have some headroom to add an amp later on.