1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Yaesu FTM-350r mod - first on the internet!

Discussion in 'Yaesu' started by Moleculo, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. Moleculo

    Moleculo
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,802
    Likes Received:
    804
    Yaesu typically doesn't release the extended transmit mod information until a couple of months after the radio has been out, but I really do need this because of my Navy MARS involvement. After studying the schematic and board for a few hours and looking at other recent Yaesu radio mods, I figured out the mod for the FTM-350r.

    Here is the extended transmit mod for the Yaesu FTM-350r:


    • Make sure everything is disconnected from the radio. This includes the power, control head, mic, coax, speakers, and anything else you have connected.
    • Open the main radio chassis, removing the four allen machine screws and lock washers. The allen wrench is provided in the package. Disconnect the speaker from the main board by simply unplugging it
    • With the cover removed orient the radio so that the control cable and mic RJ-45 connectors are facing you. When you do this, the main processor will be toward your left.
    • Locate a series of 3 resistors that are below and to the right of the dimple on the processor. I measured these resistors using my VOM meter and they appear to be 0 ohm resistors. There is an obvious spot were one jumper is blank on the board. I've circled the resistors in this pic:
    [​IMG]


    • Using a very fine solder pen with a very hot tip, carefully remove the bottom resistor. This pic shows the finished result with an arrow pointing at the removed resistor:
    [​IMG]




    • Reassemble the radio and you're good to go.
    When you first power on the radio after performing this mod, you will notice that the radio has reset itself. If it didn't, you probably need to manually reset it.

    After modification, the transmit range is as follows:

    136-174 Mhz
    222-225 Mhz (unchanged)
    420-470 Mhz

    Enjoy!
     
    1 person likes this.

  2. GLR

    GLR
    Expand Collapse
    Keeping It Good Natured

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    116
    nice
     
  3. ButtFuzz

    ButtFuzz
    Expand Collapse
    Anti-BS Advocate ● N4REV ● Reverend Doctor

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    74
    You bad, bad man.

    Hee Hee Hee.

    Great work.

    --Rob
     
  4. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,045
    Likes Received:
    135
    Converted to PDF file.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Chop

    Chop
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    7
    very slick indeed. nice job, moleculo!! we need a review, lol. we have to justify the cost of the radio.


    EDIT: saw the review. great stuff. wish i could afford this unit.
     
    #5 Chop, Jan 10, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2010
  6. K9CHP

    K9CHP
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The PDF file seems to be defective.

    Amir K9CHP
     
  7. Sonwatcher

    Sonwatcher
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    14

    It just worked on my end.
     
  8. Robb

    Robb
    Expand Collapse
    Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    10,234
    Likes Received:
    2,050
    Worked on my end - too
     
  9. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,045
    Likes Received:
    135
    You may have caught in when I had to replace it with an updated version, try again
     
  10. thorpe5278

    thorpe5278
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Power output

    did any of you notice any reduction in power output after the modifications?
     
  11. Moleculo

    Moleculo
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,802
    Likes Received:
    804

    Nope, not at all...although as you approach the edges of the TX range, it's normal to notice some drop in power. This is usually the result of the pass band filters. I don't see any drop in power in the fundamental frequencies.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. N1PFB

    N1PFB
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this Mod Increase the 1 watt of power on the 220mhz band. or is there way to increase that.???
     
  13. IT9BGI

    IT9BGI
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firmware check.

    *** Found 3D with procedure ***


    Hi to all !

    @Moleculo

    Next week should I buy a FTM RTX-350R at a dealer in Hong Kong - 409shop. I have seen with pleasure your video about the operation of radio and defects related to GPS and navigation. How do I know if I buy the radio has already installed the new firmware that fixes the problems?

    Your actions are truly beautiful and interesting. Thanks!

    Sorry for my bad english.

    Very thanks.
     
    #13 IT9BGI, Apr 15, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2010
  14. IT9BGI

    IT9BGI
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is reply of 409shop about FTM-350R firmware upgrade:


    "We just ask the Yaesu Company whether the firmware is upgrade or not. And they only reply to us that they do not have announced that FTM-30R have fireware upgrade, it just a gossip"

    What about ?

    Thanks !
     
  15. VanGoghGo

    VanGoghGo
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    :oops: Oh, oh.... well I think I did it right, and indeed the radio is transmitting above 150 Mhz, but do you get a little flashing "UL" that moves between the 2 transceivers and stays flashing on the side that is not currently selected? What might that mean? I can't find it in the little manual.
     

Share This Page