• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
  • Click here to find out how to win free radios from Retevis!

Browning Golden Eagle Mark III arcing plate tune cap

K

Kachina

Hello,
I'm not new to tube gear but I'm new to these radios. I got the receiver working but when I went to try to key up the transmitter I got arcing on the tuning cap. I thought maybe it was just out of tune at first but it was arcing no matter what I did. Then after looking at the schematic it seemed I was missing some parts and that the final tube had been swapped out with a 6201.
Because the 6201 is not a perfect match for the stock 7558 I figured maybe someone had modded the final section, but now I'm starting to think I'm just missing parts. Here is a photo of the final section that seems to be missing stuff.
Do I need to rebuild this whole section using the schematic, or what is going on here?
radio missing stuff.jpg

Here's what a stock one should look like underneath

Attachments

• 152993237_3009142265971202_5944416480952912182_n.jpg
    152993237_3009142265971202_5944416480952912182_n.jpg
    281.3 KB · Views: 8
  • All original MK III Txer .jpg
    All original MK III Txer .jpg
    450.1 KB · Views: 8
Reactions: Kachina
First thing I would do is try a 7558. The tube in there is a 12at7 which is in no way a final for that radio. Someone probably just stuck it in there. Looks like it's an early transmitter without the alc circuit. Also someone changed out the small variable cap on the tube for a larger one. That is to set the bias.