• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
  • Click here to find out how to win free radios from Retevis!

Cobra 75 WX ST Install in a 2004 F150

K

Kung

I think this is my first post, so I might ask a lot of questions. Please be gentle. LOL

The local sound shop has evidently set up these CBs before; they installed my CB. However, I'm guessing they didn't spend a heck of a lot of time grounding the heck out of the system, because I can 'hear' the acceleration/deceleration through the speaker.

My question is, exactly what all needs to be 'grounded'? I mean, obviously the black wire supplying power to the remote plug needs to be grounded, and it is LOL but do I need to ground it to anything else, and/or do I need to ground other parts of the truck to each other? I'm a former Naval electronics tech, so I understand electric/electronic theory, but am not too familiar with CB theory (translation - I'm a newbie).

Second question - any recommendations on a good antenna? I've currently got one of those 'cellular' looking CB antennas (yeah, yeah, I know they suck, but for the next week or two it's all I have access to), but I don't plan on staying w/it forever.

Any help would be much appreciated. :)

Kung said:
I think this is my first post, so I might ask a lot of questions. Please be gentle. LOL

The local sound shop has evidently set up these CBs before; they installed my CB. However, I'm guessing they didn't spend a heck of a lot of time grounding the heck out of the system, because I can 'hear' the acceleration/deceleration through the speaker.