• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Midland international Model 77-830 VS Uniden PRO 510XL

Brando3476

Jul 3, 2024
Hello! I'm new to The CB scene and I have 2 units to choose from that I picked up for cheap, the midland international model 77-830 or th3 Uniden PRO 50XL, I'm wondering which one is the better overall unit and why, also which one is easier to modify if necessary.

Hello! I'm new to The CB scene and I have 2 units to choose from that I picked up for cheap, the midland international model 77-830 or th3 Uniden PRO 50XL, I'm wondering which one is the better overall unit and why, also which one is easier to modify if necessary.
"Better" depends on what criteria you're using.

The 77-830 thanks to it's PLL02A chip is much easier to modify for additional frequency coverage. While I'm sure it's possible to modify it in terms of audio bandwidth, modulation, power output, etc, it's not something I've ever had a need to look into.

The 510XL is much more available if you need to cannibalize one for parts. Because they'res a lot more of them in wild, there's a better chance of finding documented mods. That being said, I don't know if there's any frequency mods for it.

Whichever one you choose the smart people here (meaning everyone besides me) should be able to steer you in the right direction for getting what you want out of the radio, as long as it's physically possible.