• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

New to this, Questions?

Lordgrumpie

Apr 11, 2011
NorthEast PA
I am studying for tech class license, researching radios, what is a good starter radio? what band do i want to be on? 2m, 70cm ETC.? and what would be a good matching base antenna? Mobile radios are less expensive so i would probably get one of those to use at home with a base antenna. Any help would be appreciated before i start spending money.

Depends entirely on what you want to do. As a Technician you have VHF and above, plus a bit of voice on 10 meters, and CW/data on 15, 40 and 80.

My recommendation is to get some beginner's books and such from the ARRL. Learn about radio while you're studying for your license, and then get the equipment YOU decide on - not what somebody else says you "should" have.

pappy.gif
I would recommend you jump over to Google and enter (with quotes): "your city, ST" "amateur radio." Google will return all the "Amateur Radio" Operator's in your city. Now, browse through the list and look for a Ham close by. Give him (or her) a call and let them know you are looking for advice. You will be surprised how receptive they will be to your new hobby. They will probably invite you over or at least give you the closest Ham Club. Don't be shy - you will be welcomed with open arms.

I always thought that the Yaesu FT-8900r was a bit of a funky radio because 6m and 10m are FM only. Most areas don't have many 10m or 6m FM repeaters to make use of.