• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Aircraft HF Help

debiassi

Ferry Pilot
Dec 24, 2009
UK
www.alpha2bravo.com
Hi there, a similar post has been submitted before without a real solution. I am trying to find a HF set that will work using a voltage inverter plugged into a 12v dc plug or alternatively an external battery pack and somehow using an antennae that doesnt need to connect to the airframe as this then requires FAA certification as a temporary installation which is expensive. Any pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreceiated and please bear in mind I am a total novice.
Thanks in anticipation.

A Hand Held maybe, BUT YOU DONT KNOW HOW IT WILL EFFECT THE AIRCRAFTS ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS OR INSTRUMENTS,SO ITS NOT A GOOD IDEA!! THATS WHY THEY WANT IT CERTIFIED BY THE FAA. NOT YELLING JUST WANT TO MAKE A POINT BETTER TO BE SAFE THAN SORRY!

It is a legal requirement on an oceanic crossing to carry a HF radio. the point is if it is installed, then it needs to be certified, if it isnt installed, then it doesnt need expensive certification. It has nothing to do with interfering with aircraft systems. If you know of a handheld solution that could possibly work please let me know.
Regards

It seems you want to get out of doing what you really should do for safety. Since the HF radios that are required are not uncommon, and since the requirements for their use are very smart ideas to abide by, and since the expense is not all that great, just exactly what is your purpose? I think it's something I want nothing to do with, no matter what it is. Even when explained in such a way that even a dunce can understand, you are persisting in this. Why does that make me think there's more to it than just trying to save a dollar?
- 'Doc