• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

G'Day from Australia

frostbite

Mar 16, 2008
COOMA NSW AUSTRALIA
Hi to ALL -
As I am NEW here I just wanted to say G'Day from Australia to all other users of this forum.... I am only fairly new to Amateur Radio (approx 12mths) and currently a Foundation Licence holder here in OZ. I am studying for the upgrade to the Standard Licence of which I will sit the exams in a couple of weeks and hopefully obtain the 'S' call and a three letter suffix instead of the current four letter (make it a lot better for DX).

The current arrangements are for 3 classes of licence F, S, A, being Foundation, Standard and Advanced levels, with each upgrade a higher power output level may be used as well as extra bands to operate on....

The foundation licence is a good starting point for new operators but very limited in power (10w PEP) but we do get to use 80,40,15,10 meter bands as well as 2m and 70cm - the biggest hurdle with the F call is the 4 letter suffix - makes it very frustrating at times for working DX countries as they just can't seem to grasp the concept of a 4 letter suffix callsign...

I am looking forward to upgrading to the Standard and later on maybe the Advanced, but at least with the Standard call I will get a new callsign with a 3 letter suffix and be allowed to use 100w PEP plus pick up a few more bands to use including 10m & 6m and a couple of higher ones too...