• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

looking for some insight

brash

Apr 22, 2012
i'm new to the cb scene, so doing research i've found that all the radios are great and crap.
talked to several shops and techs, one says the hr2510 is the best radio out there another says its crap same with the grants, 29's, thought about the galaxy brand but found out then they are garbage. just what is a good radio i know its a ford/chevy/dodge kinda thing. is it also that most people are just not wanting to change to the new style radios either?

Most of the radios you mentioned were good back in the day. Now, they are aged and need TLC. Some guys can't let go of the past.

You could blow a wad of cash and Buy a Stryker 955HP and go beep beep beep down the street with it's 6 roger beeps.

My tech says the same about the 2510's... in that they were one of the best SSB radios made. Ever. He does know that they are old, and do need parts replaced from time to time. I am in agreement with m42duster, in that a lot of folks hold on to the past. The Grant XL/Cobra 148 is also a great oldie, but can need some repairs to keep them going. Most of the new stuff is hard for guys to work on, as well, since most companies are into the SMT stuff now. So yeah, they like the old stuff they can still work on and fix. :)

If you are looking for a new rig, tell these fine folks what your needs are for communication, and they can get you looking in the right direction. And that will come without bias toward selling you a rig from their shop. (y) Most have been there/done that, spent the money, used one of the rigs you are interested in, and can really give you an honest opinion. The Dodge/Ford/Chevy thing still comes into play though! :tongue:

RT307