• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Yaesu VX-8DR - How to Delete Channels from Memory?

a12

Feb 21, 2011
Hi All

I am fairly new to the amateur radio scene. After being into CB's many years ago, I have decided to join the amateur radio world. I am taking my Tech and maybe the Extra test next week.

I am the proud new owner of the VX-8DR w/GPS and have had it for about two weeks now. I wanted to start off with a portable unit and then maybe get a more powerful mobile/base radio down the road.

I have been learning all of the features on it, both through the manual as well as the Nifty manual. This is a great radio and very fun to use. The problem that I am having is that I can't seem to figure out how to delete some memory channels that I stored into the memory register (MR, not the other frequency banks). I can delete memories from the other banks, B1, B2, etc., but not from MR. I've checked the manual and also the nifty manual several times, but I can't seem to get it right. When I try to follow what I think are the steps to do this, I end up being asked to "Mask" the channel in memory, or store the freq. that I am trying to delete, into the next available memory slot. Must be missing a step or something. Can anyone let me know what I am doing incorrect?

I am thinking about getting the radio programming software, as it seems like a good interface and an easy way to store and organize frequencies.

Any comments greatly appreciated.

This is a great forum with lots of good info.

Thanks and 73's.

Last edited:

No Delete

a12,

Masking (hiding) is the cheap and dirty version of delete. Overwriting is another way to deal with unwanted channel data.