• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Yagi on the Test Stand

W

W9WD

I got the hardware I was waiting for and so I started assembling the Yagi for testing

Here's most of the hardware I was waiting for. I made the sandwich plates.

saddle.jpg

The boom without elements. 2.5" square 1/8 wall aluminum

boom.jpg

One by one I put in the 5/8" elements. Had to stop and cut some tree limbs out of the way

setup 1.jpg

The last thing to go on is the feed/gamma attach point

gamma1.jpg

I have to make up the cable I bought and attach the gamma match before I can test. I'm also studying for my General ticket so my time is getting stretched a little thin
This antenna will be tuned to the middle of the 10 meter band.

Last edited by a moderator:

Just for grins I hooked up an old 40 ch CB and played with it. ( I still haven't got my new coax put together to test on 10m).
I was able to get 1.05:1 (needle barely moved) on CH-40 and 1.4:1 on CH-1.

The Gamma match was set like this.

gamma2.jpg

Brass rod fully inserted.
You can just barely see the marks I made on the element as I moved the ground strap in.
I wonder if cutting off the excess brass rod would make a difference?

I got my coax hooked up and tried it around 28.4 --- 28.5
Looks like 1.1:1 to 1.2:1
I think I smell a rat.
It will be interesting to get this thing up off the ground and see what happens.

I got my coax hooked up and tried it around 28.4 --- 28.5
Looks like 1.1:1 to 1.2:1
I think I smell a rat.
It will be interesting to get this thing up off the ground and see what happens.