• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

1/3 the weight, 1/3 the cost. Work?

bhayles

W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member
Jul 2, 2014
mountains of N Georgia
juicymaters.com
I'm just beginning to learn about Ham, HF, antennas and such. I'm also poor as a church mouse and always looking for ways to do things frugally...inexpensive but not cheap.

I'm going to start building this antenna tomorrow...

MULTI BAND HF FAN DIPOLE ANTENNA DESIGN

...and I have a question or two.

First, can I use either of the following rather than 14 ga copper stranded wire? I know the strength is OK as I have used both for livestock in the past and the stuff is STRONG...but will it perform well as radials for the above antenna, or ANY antenna for that matter?

As the thread header says, the stuff is about 1/4 to 1/3 the weight of stranded copper, and it costs about a third to a half as much.

XL Aluminum Wire - Gallagher Permanent electric fencing components

3/32" Turbo Wire - Gallagher Portable electric fencing components

Now I have forgotten my second question. I'll be back when I remember it...:D

From Eham:

The aluminum electric fence wire is cheap, but you have to make
sure you have sealed the joints carefully. (Aluminum oxide is an
insulator.) A bit of Ox-Gard or similar antioxident is a good idea
on any joint.

From Eham:

The aluminum electric fence wire is cheap, but you have to make
sure you have sealed the joints carefully. (Aluminum oxide is an
insulator.) A bit of Ox-Gard or similar antioxident is a good idea
on any joint.

Thanks...just added Ox Gard to my Amazon shopping list.

Now...are the radials as efficient as copper when using 12.5 ga aluminum?

Don't put aluminium wire in the ground, it will dissolve to white powder in a year's time.