• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

70cm folded dipole

Leland

May 26, 2013
Hello all,
I'm rather new to all of this and was hoping for some help.
I would like to start on a 70 cm folded dipole that could also be used on 2 meters. First is this possile. 432.5 mhz and 144.188 mhz on the same element. How do I go about this.
Thanks

Might be a lot easier if you built a 2M antenna. IT should work just fine on 70cm, being an odd number of half wavelengths long. (Why a "folded" dipole?)

Don't know, just want to get started on a project. If I did a dipole (not a folded dipole), would it be easier to match? Also, Do I want the feed point to start a new wave or does it matter?

... Do I want the feed point to start a new wave or does it matter?

well, for MONO band antenas, I do favor "tuned feedlines", however, 2 meters is 4 MHz wide. I would pick the part of the band you intend to operate on and aim for that freq range.

for some projects, go here and look around Antenna Projects

or perhaps a ground plane antenna built on a chassis connector would be fun

welcome to da forum

why does this guys j-poles have the center conductor going to the short pipe while all the calculators I have seen have the center conductor going to the long pipe of the j-pole?

2 Meter Amateur Radio J-Pole Antenna | KB9VBR J-Pole Antennas

He likes to be different?

Since RF is AC it makes no difference really which way the coax connects to a J-pole. Same idea as a dipole. Which wire gets connected to the center lead? I know Doc would say the pink wire. :D

He likes to be different?

Since RF is AC it makes no difference really which way the coax connects to a J-pole. Same idea as a dipole. Which wire gets connected to the center lead? I know Doc would say the pink wire. :D