• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Best learner beginner cheapo set up?

Ok well now... I have devised a clever scheme....

I located the University's Ham Club. I had heard they were defunt but I see some activity from early this year. So hopefully not. And I know this stuff is probably still here. Repeaters and such. Not much action on thier site lately but I think I have found them. Here is their shack:

shack01.jpg

Now... since I am a Safety officer here at the University my plan is to threaten them with an audit if they don't teach me everything I need to know about the Tech exam and enough code to pass the Plus level! :D :p

just kidding... sorta... ;)

tech exam

You can pass the new tech exam easily, the new one came out jul1 or aug 1, a weekend or a week of a few hours review you can pass..
Will look for your call letters

doctor

Well they indeed did. At least the Technician one is now updated. It says July 06 question pool and I probably took it 20 times today. I think I only failed it once or twice early on and not by a lot. Near the end I was passing it consistently with only 3-4 missed. Passed it at least 15 or more times in a row. i want to get so as I only miss one here and there. Lots of good stuff there though as it then takes me into areas I need to study and learn. Because I get instant feedback and I can go out and look for a little more detail on some stuff as it comes up.

Also got my practice keyer a few mintues ago via UPS. Let me ask this, is there a certain gap that's standard between the contact thats best to use?

test/key

On the key, adjust where it is comfortable, but not to wide a gap, you will find it where it is comfortable.