• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

cocoamodem and psk31 -- getting closer to going digital!!

Snake_Eyes

Oct 16, 2005
i am interested in using cocoamodem (or a similar mac alternative) to learn more about psk31, and maybe give it a try. :)

at present, i have no experience with digital modes (or CW), and psk31 seems to be the mode that everyone is talking about, so if anyone has a wealth of knowledge that they could possibly pass on?, please do so! :)

while i am interested mainly in cocoamodem and macintosh software, perhaps someone has some information, that i may be able to use -- even windows-based info. as it applies to my learning more about psk31.

thank you!

73, Snake Eyes

Snake Eyes,
I've no experience with 'Mac's so take this for what it's worth. I do have some experience with 'Windows' based stuff so will tell you a little about that aspect.
Most of the 'digital' modes can be done without a modem of any kind. Basically, all you need is a sound card in the computer, and a means of connecting that sound card to the output/input of a radio. Software 'modems' are fairly common, sort of.
The biggest problem is making the computer and radio 'compatible', getting rid of, or stopping any RF interference. Quite a few of those thingys on the market now, and not all that difficult to make if you feel like it.
Just to see if you might like PSK31, or several of the other modes, try finding the applicable software, install it, get an audio cable to connect the output of the radio to the input of the sound card (speaker on the radio, mic/aux/whatever input on the sound card). Listening is pretty easy. Transmitting doesn't have to be that easy, one or two 'gadgets' to put in line, sort of.