• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

dx949 and kl503 issues on ssb

Jul 26, 2013
Alright, I'm a compete newb when it comes to ssb and i have never talked using it. So excuse the cheaper radio and amp. The 503 and the 949 is working fine or appears to be on the am side. But with the amp set to ssb and on 38lsb on when i key up the relay just chatters on the amp and the swr warning light matches the click on the amp with a flash of the warning LED. Now the reason i am putting this in the radio section.

I noticed with the amp off and on 38lsb when i key up i hear a light thud and the power needle on the radio jumps to around 2-3w and then settles down to 0. After a little experimenting i put my power mic on the 949, turned up the gain on the radio, and the rf power and noticed if i talk fairly loud the relay clicking is'nt there and the red tx led is solid on the amp not flickering like when the relay chatters.

Just wondering what is going on as i would really like to get the ssb working with the amp so i can give it a shot. Is the power too high on key up causing it co click it on and then bouce back and forth between key and no key?

It's working fine, SSB has no carrier or dead key like AM does it's all modulated watts. This is why amplifiers must have a SSB delay. This keeps the amp keyed up in between words. If you key the mic on SSB but do not speak it will act like yours is.

It's working fine, SSB has no carrier or dead key like AM does it's all modulated watts. This is why amplifiers must have a SSB delay. This keeps the amp keyed up in between words. If you key the mic on SSB but do not speak it will act like yours is.

So the relay is supposed to chatter when i have the radio keyed on ssb when i'm not talking?