• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Hello Newbie here!

kazz330

Jan 9, 2009
Hey everyone,

My names Jared, I'm 21, and I'm interested in getting in to CB radio/Amatuer radio and was wondering where a good place to start was?

Any tips, equipment, etc that I should look? good websites?

Any info would help!

Thanks!

Hi Jared, Welcome to the site...which is itself a great place to start to learn a lot. Radio communications for fun and hobby enjoyment is cool. I've been a CB'er since 1976 and a ham since 1993. It's all good.

All I will suggest is buy the best equipment you can even to start with. Cheap junk doesn't work well and you won't be happy with it and you'll be driven to buy better stuff. Then you're stuck with the cheap junk that you've spent money on and find that it is hard or impossible to resell and you've wasted some money.

There's a wide variety of good equipment on the market these days. Don't be afraid of good used gear necessarily. Get assurances from the seller that everything looks and works as should or that they will take it back if it doesn't. You can save a lot of money by getting used gear. Prices are low on ebay right now with the rough economy. If you use ebay....that's a good place to look around.

Technology has come a LONG way in the last 10-15 years. I would get newer stuff rather than something that was considered good 30 years ago. And very old radios may or will be hard to get parts for.

Welcome aboard and good luck !
interview.gif

Thanks for the quick response weasel! I was looking at galaxy's as they seem to be very popular. Any recommendations? I am going to look into if I can place an antenna on the roof (I currently live at home while I go to college), and if not, run a mobile setup.