• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

How to get started

Codejockey

KF5CKB
Jul 21, 2009
www.armedtexan.com
Hello,

I'm new to Amateur radio, but I've been wanting to get into it for sometime now. I'm basically looking to do a mobile installation in my Jeep. I will be taking my Technician test in August, and I'm looking for advice on what types of radio would be good for me to get my feet wet. I don't want to spend a bunch of money yet until I know what I'd like. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Good luck with it, I think you'll enjoy it, I have. (The radio part, not the jeep thingy.)
Most ham radios aren't the simplest thingys in the world any more. Usually have lots of menus to figure out, etc (has to do with small sizes of radios). So 'simple' is nice till you get your feet wet, sort of. And since you plan on using this when you're mobile, or moving, that 'simple' can make one @#$$ of a difference.
Nothing wrong with small radios, or handy-talkies, but since then are going to require some attention, sometimes they aren't the best "starter" radio you can have. Handy-talkies are especially not suited for a 'starter', they are very limited because of their antenna, just not a very huge 'range'. With VHF/UHF you are looking as sort of short range to start with, so why limit yourself even more with a handy-talky? Later, after you get your feet wet, and if you want one, have at it!