• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Hy-Gain Super Penetrator 500

WA2SI

Jun 6, 2011
Long Island, NY
Hey guys, ( & ladies?)

Does anybody know what alloy the new Hy-Gain Super Penetrator 500 is made of; 6063-T5, 6063-T832, or 6061-T6? All three are technically "aircraft grade" but the techno-nerd in me needs to know.

Although in a different profession now, I was an aircraft mechanic/avionics tech by education and early career; (Just couldn't stand the lack of job security.) Hence my desire to know the actual alloy/temper designation.

The ones I do know are:
MaCo V58/5000 - 6063-T5
I-10K - 6063-T832
Enforcers .64 - 6061-T6
Sirio... Your guess is as good as mine - hihi.

Tnx in advance and as always, take care es...

Vy 73 de Bert
WA2SI

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Hey guys, ( & ladies?)

Does anybody know what alloy the new Hy-Gain Super Penetrator 500 is made of; 6063-T5, 6063-T832, or 6061-T6? All three are technically "aircraft grade" but the techno-nerd in me needs to know.

Although in a different profession now, I was an aircraft mechanic/avionics tech by education and early career; (Just couldn't stand the lack of job security.) Hence my desire to know the actual alloy/temper designation.

The ones I do know are:
MaCo V58/5000 - 6063-T5
I-10K - 6063-T832
Enforcers .64 - 6061-T6
Sirio... Your guess is as good as mine - hihi.

Tnx in advance and as always, take care es...

Vy 73 de Bert
WA2SI

Which type would you hope for and why?

Definitely hoping for 6063-T832. Stronger than the T-5 with excellent anti-corrosive properties and much more cost-effective than the 6061 T-6. I've had a total of three V-58's &/or V-5000's (Including the original Wilson version.) and they will take a permanent bend in high winds.

73, Bert