• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Imax 2000 on a 190' tower crane Swr problem

Mar 14, 2016
Hello fellow cb'ers. My question is for the Imax 2000 on 11 meter band. I am a tower crane operator & I use my height to my advantage. For about 5 years now I've been installing my antenna @ the very top of my rigs. Problem is this time around I can't get my swr's any lost than a 2.1. I think I've tried everything. Even bought a new 2000 thinking that my old one May be faulty. What do you guys think wouldl help me. I've tried rf isolator by mfj 915, turning my coax at the Fed point to a 90. Also I'm using a analyzer. No luck yet

Have you tried putting together the full setup at ground level to see if the SWR issue appears there?

Really just a process of elimination.

If setup works perfectly on ground but not on crane then something on the crane mounting has changed from previous installs that is causing the issue.

If setup has issue on the ground then you'll have to inspect each element to solve.

If it worked fine in previous crane installs but not this one and the mounting is exactly the same then something in the chain of equipment is having an issue. Personally I'd check coax first.

Reactions: Robb
I've tried everything but that. I've got a new coax (40' lmr flex) I was reading the manual & saw that they say that the base should be 18' above a steel structure. I only have it around 5' above right now so I can reach the tunning rings. But I will try what you suggested

I would suspect the "new" coax, may have bad soldering or connections,

You can use the analyzer to check your coax also.

Reactions: Road Squawker
I would suspect the "new" coax, may have bad soldering or connections,

You can use the analyzer to check your coax also.