• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Mobile advice needed

trkdriver

Mar 2, 2008
Can someone tell me to stop buying antenna's.Im new to this and have a cobra29(my first radio) with 2 4ft firestik's on my 379 peterbuilt currently.I was told not to skimp on the antenna because it is a big part of the system,so I went out and forked out the cash for a wilson 2000 trucker.When I switched out the wilson (1) with the firestik's I was told that there was no difference so now Im confused?I have bought francis also and still no difference I was under the impression that a good antenna would make a small radio(which mine is no mods)sound big and blah..blah...blah..I am willing to spend the money IF it will make a difference I mean is approx. 4 miles all I can expect to get with my stock radio no matter what antenna I buy?How does a 20$ antenna work as good as a 70$ (FIRESTIK VS WILSON)?

if you had duals on your Pete , that means your install should have used 75 ohm coax , Your Wilson 2000 is a fine antenna , duals are not what there all cracked up to be in the first place (long story) you should do great with your Wilson 2000 , it sounds to me that you need to change the coax to a good 50 ohm line to the Wilson , RG-8X should be good to go. You will be very surprised how good it will work. Nothing wrong with a little tune up on your radio as well , but your right to say , your antenna and feedline should be numeral uno ! Good luck to you. And welcome to the Forum. SK