• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

New to CB's, few questions!

Mordeth

Nov 28, 2005
Hello,

I am very new to CB's. I am interested in getting myself started and have some basic questions I was hoping someone can help me with. I have done a few weeks worth of research so far.

1) I have narrowed down my choice of radios to:
- Cobra 25 WX NW ST
or
- Uniden PC 78 ELITE

I realize that these 2 radios are very similar, but does anyone have anything to say to push me over the edge either way?

2) I plan on purchasing the Wilson 1000 Mag mount antenna. I know that this is sufficient for my use, but my question is regarding the Magnet Mount. How well do these things stick to the car? I am worried that the magnet is not strong enough and will just blow off at high speeds. Anyone have any experience with these Wilson Magnet Antenna mounts?

3) Other than the radio itself and the antenna, is there anything else that I need to get started? I assume that the coax I need for the antenna comes with it. Am I missing anything? Anyone have any further suggestions?

Thanks a bunch.

welcome 1st of all...
the wilson is a great antenna, I run 2 of them myself, cant complain a bit about the way the work. and as long as it'll stick to the metal...it'll hold....up to 100mph I can vouch for..hehe
now between the 2 radios....very close, the main differences would be bells and whistles, I had a 25, good radio and teh advantage being that its nice and small as well...thats where I'd give it the edge!

Welscome to the forum!!! I have never ran 78 but they do hav and advantage to the Cobra, It has a built in swr meter which will alow you to tune your antenna without the need for a external meter. The 25 is nice as well I myself own one and its no longer stock but it worked well when it was.