• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Noise to Signal ratio

hawk1943

Jul 8, 2011
West Midlands
Hi there,

It's been a while since I have used my scanner...

Basically I am an apprentice falconer, don't worry i'm 34 and taking things steady...

But I do not have £450+ to buy a dedicated reciever to receive the telemetry signal being transmitted on 173MHz...

What I have have done is coupled my Yupiteru MVT-7100 scanner brought in 1995 to a 3 Element Tuned Yagi, so that I can receive the incoming signal from a 2 stage transmitter on 173.237.0 MHz...

But after 500 yards the signal to noise ratio is starting to drown out the signal, with the squelch turned off I can pick the signal up at approximatly 2 miles but the noise is pretty much drowning out the signal...

I was thinking of using a band pass filter to help clean up some of the noise etc but not designed anything to work with a scanner... most things electronically I am fine with but for some reason I am a bit hesitant with this...

The BNC is 50 ohms so I presume the whole design needs to be below this thrershold but does that also include the Yagi?

Any help or advice would be greatfully received...

What type of transmitter are you using to broadcast the telemetry signal and how much range do you need ?? If the telemetry unit has an external antenna, raising the antenna as high as possible will increase the range. Ditto for the receiver. If you can increase the output power of the transmitter, this will help too. You are probably at the mercy of high atmospheric noise, and this will be hard to overcome with a low power transmitter. If it is possible to connect your yagi antenna to the transmitter, and use a wire antenna on the receiver this may offer some improvement too.

Hi Unit_399,

Thanks for replying...