• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Noob Needs Help bad

chevy1500

Oct 4, 2005
ok. im just getting into cb's. so far i picked up a cobra 29 nw st on ebay. i know there not the best but i got a pretty good deal in it. anyways i need some advice/ help on what to do for an antenna and anything else i might need. im lookin at one of those mounts that go in the post hole on the bed rail of the pickup. i really dont want to drill any holes and i dont really want to do a mag mount either. i was thinking about getting a whip antenna because of duribility. something shorter than a 102" though, maybe like a 72"? if you have any input on what to get for an antenna let me know, i really dont want to spend the money on a predator right now, maybe later. what should i get for coax? anything else i need? thanks for the help.

How about a Wilson 5000? Great antenna. Keep looking around the forum, you may come across a 10K. Good luck

ok thanks for the help so far. any opinions on the shorter ss whips? ive heard good things about 102" but nothing about shorter ones. also is grounding as simple as wiring the antenna base to the frame? will the post hole mount work ok or do i need something else? how good is the SWR meter in the cobra? will i be ok using that to tune with? in the manual for the cobra it says swr can be tuned on the radio? that there is a knob to do it with? how does that work? thanks again for the help so far. keep it coming.