• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

President John Q

redbeast

Aug 14, 2016
Does anyone have any input on the president John Q model? Just picked one up for free, initial test shows it turns on, tx/rx light operates, but no LEDs on in display. Good radio? Approximate age? Were the president's made by uniden? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks guys. 73

redbeast,
I have no personal experience with this radio. I believe it is made by Uniden. My guess as to age would be late 1977 to 1978. It is very similar (chassis wise-may have some different features) to a Cobra 21XLR. It uses a uPD858 PLL chip (desirable and modifiable for extra channels) and a 3 crystal PLL mixing scheme.It can be found in Sam's Photofacts CB-118.

Schematics are posted here.
http://www.cbtricks.com/radios/president/john_q/index.htm

73's
David

redbeast,
I have no personal experience with this radio. I believe it is made by Uniden. My guess as to age would be late 1977 to 1978. It is very similar (chassis wise-may have some different features) to a Cobra 21XLR. It uses a uPD858 PLL chip (desirable and modifiable for extra channels) and a 3 crystal PLL mixing scheme.It can be found in Sam's Photofacts CB-118.

Schematics are posted here.
http://www.cbtricks.com/radios/president/john_q/index.htm

73's
David
Thanks, Dmans. Got the unit for free and not real familiar with the president line.

Yes, it was made by Uniden. Therefore, it has a decent build quality. Like ALL of the Unidens I have picked up over the years, and have restored most of them. Good stuff - Maynard!