• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

SWR Question/Problem

May 13, 2014
I'm pretty new to the hobby but I've always had an interest in radio, so be gentle. :D
I've got a Galaxy 99v2, a Texas Star DX 350, a Wilson 1000 mag mount, and I'm using a Astatic PDC1 SWR/Watt meter to check my SWRs. Ok, on band E channels 1-40 for example, I get an SWR of 1.0-1.1 on both the Astatic and the radios meter, so those both jive with each other. But on Band H channels 1-40, I get SWRs between 2.0 and 2.5 area. What's happening here? Do I need to retune my antenna for each band or what? I know an SWR above1.3 is not good for my amp. Any help would be much appreciated.

yes. the antenna is not broadbanded enough to cover that frequency range.

I'm not sure I understand. According to Wilson's website, the specs say that the "Frequency Range 26MHz to 30MHz". That falls between that range. :confused:

yes. I'm sure your radio covers that range too, but needs some adjustment to do so (such as turning the channel selector).

The antenna can be tuned over that range, but that is not an SWR bandwidth spec, it is merely an operating spec. You can make it work over that entire range, but just not all at once. You will need to tune the whip to move the operational bandwidth over the range that you want to operate.

Reactions: 1 person
The antenna itself can cover that range, but only by adjusting the length of the stinger in the coil base, or cutting the stinger and adjusting it as well.

I operate 10/11 meter mobile frequently and use a Wilson 1000. I'm able to adjust my stinger length so that it is bottomed out in the base. I have a second stinger that is cut for 10 meter phone and bottoms out as well. All I have to do is just quickly change stingers without worrying about readjusting it within the base.