• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Thinking about an HT

Mac83

Jun 10, 2011
I have been thinking about getting an HT to carry out with me while snowmobiling or in the truck.

I would like to be able to hook it up to a mag mount on the roof of my truck if thats possible.

I would also like to program it with my computer.

I am still new to the hobby and have been using a Yaesu FT-7800R as a base station. I don't have any of the programing software with it so using software with an HT would be a little bit of a learning curve.

I'm not looking to spend more then $180.

So far it seems like most people in my area use the 2 meter band. But a dual band might be good to have.

I have been reading reviews on the Baofengs and the Wouxuns.
I was just wondering what people might recommend me to start out with and what the options might be, like using a mag mount antenna and a mic.

Thanks.

Ive been a ham ten years now, never had an HT because i live in the Caribbean and there is no VHf traffic. so ive always worked HF DX

however lately i wanted to experiment with VHF, i just purchased two wouxuns, the dual band 2m and 70cm ones, 140 with programming cable, spoken to tons of guys, and i believe it was a good choice. will have it in my hands tonight if youd like further info.

Reactions: 1 person
Of the two choices you gave, I only know something about the Wouxun HT's, and I would recommend them. I would suggest a new one rather than used, and get the programming cable and antenna adapter for it. An extra battery would also be nice. The programming software is free, but get it, it's much easier than doing it by hand. Where to get one? Do like everyone else does, shop around for the best price.
They will certainly benefit from using a mobile antenna, but the supplied 'duck' isn't bad.
Good luck.