• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Watch those meter leads!

I have to disagree about the fear part. Maybe I just see things differant or express things differant but the way I see it is that if you are afraid of it then you should not be working on it. Fear does not necessarily bring caution with it.Fear can lead one to the mindset that since they do not want to work on it then they may be ill prepared to work on it and THAT can be very bad.

There's truth in that....

I've been offered jobs as a lineman several times over the years. It's been tempting on and off but I declined to do it after getting a taste of light weight HV.

I used to be a sound engineer, and did a ton of field/festival type setups. In the course of doing that there were always major power drops that had to be patched in from large distribution panels with the Edison type friction jumpers. One of the local festival fields had an exceptionally large distribution panel, definitely had HV levels coming into it, no clue from memory how many phases it was split down to but it was a lot of juice for sure.

My buddy was teaching me how to patch in. The process was relatively simple, all big nuts and bolts etc. However, while standing there, you could actually feel the current cycle in your bones when you were up close to the box. That feeling alone was enough to keep me away from it. It just felt like death is the best way I could describe it. Simple rules to follow to keep safe, but you don't really get any mistakes you walk away from doing that work.

I figured it was best I didn't work on it.