1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

yaesu ft-891 and ATAS 120A

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by camaro1, Jul 11, 2017.

  1. camaro1

    camaro1
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    325
    Got the new mobile rig installed tonight, yaesu ft-891 and ATAS 120A antenna. I used the BreedLove 2" UHF puck mount, and some LMR-240. everything seems to be working fine, tried 20m as soon as I got it powered up, hit the tune button the atas started moving and found a nice low swr and made 2 contacts then went to 6m and made another contact. now to read the manual and figure out all the menu options IMG_1527.JPG IMG_1528.JPG IMG_1529.JPG IMG_1531.JPG


     
    Mudduckmobile and 2RT307 like this.

  2. camaro1

    camaro1
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    325
    radio is working fine, antenna is also working good, its nice to just toch the tune button and be done when changing bands

    one thing that is annoying about the radio, it has a very nice dsp(DNR) noise reduction option that works great but every time you change bands or from vfo to memory channels you have to go back into the menu and turn it on again and reset your dsp level.... been trying to see if there is a way to turn the dsp on and leave it on, but haven't found any info yet

    also I haven't looked into firmware or dsp updates yet, I know there was a firmware update on the yaesu site but I just haven't got around to seeing what version my radio is at yet
     
  3. Paul WB2JVB

    Paul WB2JVB
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree about the DSP, really annoying to turn back on every time!! I am also losing the ability to control the ATAS-120 at times. Usually happens after radio has been off for a day, or I have removed and re-installed the antenna. It will do nothing if you hit tune. I have to futz around, change bands, key up, turn off, back on, etc. Eventually it will work. And then it works fine until I turn the rig off again. Driving me nuts!
     
  4. camaro1

    camaro1
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    325
    what are you using for coax, I have heard the atas is sensitive to bad or poor coax connections,, I'm using LMR-240 coax with soldered on pl259's,, and I have been tuning it around the bands everyday without any issues.

    also I installed a whip 12" longer than what was on the atas120A and it still tunes 6m to 40m with no issues
     
    2RT307 likes this.
  5. Paul WB2JVB

    Paul WB2JVB
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Interesting. Due to my mounting restrictions, I have it on a trunk lip mount on the rear hatch. That has some tiny coax at the mount end. Once it "hooks up", it works perfectly, it just seems to lose contact when radio turning on. I will recheck my grounding straps, etc. Thanks for the tip.
     
    2RT307 likes this.
  6. 2RT307

    2RT307
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    631
    Supposedly grounding is the big issue here. The rig and antenna sem to get confused if you don't have a good ground. Also, I have also added a couple of ferrite chokes to the remote cable near the junction, and that has reduced some noise on the receive end.
    I got home today after a long qso while mobile in Oklahoma and talking to a guy in Louisiana and another in south Texas on 40 meters. Very good reports from both of them, and they were both coming in strong. I went to demount the antenna when I got home, and the whole assembly swiveled. This is my mount that swiveled while trying to unscrew, not the antenna. I may need to use some Loc-tite on the parts that I don't want to move. My Atas-120A is mounted on the side of the trunk lid as well. I have found that manually moving the antenna via the up/down buttons vs. using the tune function gets you closer to the correct match and avoids any "hunting" issues.

    Also, there is a new firmware update that is supposed to take care of the settings/memory issues. I have downloaded it, and plan to install it over the weekend.

    73,
    Brett
     
  7. camaro1

    camaro1
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    325
    New updates came out yesterday for firmware, dsp , and panel display,, going to update mine lunch time,, hopefully the dsp bug is fixed
     
    2RT307 likes this.
  8. Paul WB2JVB

    Paul WB2JVB
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did all the firmware updates, and nothing has changed on the DSP. Unless one came out after yesterday, when I downloaded it!

    How do you manually tune? When I move the antenna up and down, I am on the screen that just has two arrows. So do you just go back and forth between the transmit screen and the function screen?

    I had to fight with it today for about 15 minutes before it would tune. But once it does, I can change bands or do anything and it tunes just fine when I hit the button.

    I was wondering do I have to return the antenna to a set position. This seems to happen more when I remove the antenna.

    WB2JVB
     
  9. camaro1

    camaro1
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    325
    the dsp still turns off when I change bands so no fix there with the updates,,

    sounds like you have a poor connection somewhere ,,, I have no problem just pressing the tune button anytime, any band and the antenna will auto tune
     
  10. 2RT307

    2RT307
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    631
    I still haven't done the update. Was hoping they fixed the settings being forgotten when you change bands. Not sure what changes they actually made on this version, though.

    73,
    Brett
     

Share This Page