• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Yaesu FTM-350 vs Kenwood TM-D710A

n1plh

Feb 10, 2010
I have the VX-8DR and I would like to get a mobile. The 350 looks pretty good, except for the lousy memory management (separate pools of channels for each VFO, no banks) and the fact that it won't digipeat.

I see that the 710 will Smart Beacon so, other than the higher cost for the 710, are there other benefits to the Yaesu? I generally prefer Yaesu, but I have a feeling that the 710 may be better for heavy APRS use.

Any tips from the guys that have used both would be appreciated!

I am very new to this whole scene, but I have used both of these radios and I recently went through this decision process myself.

My friend and I were both interested in rigs with good APRS support, since we are both into four wheeling and backcountry exploration, and we wanted APRS capabilities to find each other and track the other members of our caravan while well outside cell range.

He went with the Yaesu. One main benefit is that Yaesu seems to take a more all-inclusive approach to APRS support. Namely, the GPS can be included "in the box" for an additional $70, which is pretty reasonable and seems to work well (assuming you get the software-updated version as covered elsewhere on this board).

I heavily favor the aesthetics and overall apparent build quality of the Yaesu, but at the last minute I wound up going for the 710. This decision was actually driven by the fact that I already run a GPS with NMEA in/out capability, and the Kenwood offers much better support for the external GPS connection, including the ability to output station locations back to the GPS unit for view on the screen, which I find incredibly useful. (Both units will do a basic "navi" display which shows you distance/bearing to the station.)