• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Yaesu VX-8R As First Radio?

BubbaDX

Jul 4, 2009
www.venemousduckracing.com
I am currently studying for the ARRL Technician exam and I am looking for my first radio. I like the VX-8R and want to purchase one before I take the exam so I can start learning how to use it. Would this be a good first radio? If not, what radio should I look at?

I'll bite... I'm a noob at this though.

There probably is an easier radio to learn on, but if you want the 8r go for it. I learned on a 2m AA battery radio shack radio first which was pretty basic http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/425 but not very easy to use, and then got the opportunity to use a Kenwood D-710 for a while, which was really really simple and does a lot of cool stuff http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/6871.

If you could get a loaner radio first that would be best. You may decide that you might like a mobile or base station better (which are much more powerful and can usually interface with a computer pretty easily), and can live with a (a lot cheaper) basic but still capable HT Kenwood TH-F6A Amateur Radio HT THF6. Look around the interweb and pick the price you are willing to pay and go from there. An HT for the first radio sounds cool because you can go hang out a the coffee shop while you figure out the HT and ham radio in general. What I am getting at is, if you get the 8R (pricey) you will be reluctant to get something else more powerful/features later because the 8R already took a chunk out of your wallet and does quite a bit (aprs, submersible...). In retrospect, I think I could do OK with a vx-6r/7r or the th-f6a HT and with the money I wouldn't have spent on the 8r (and all of the accessories) I would have got the kenwood d-710 mobile.