1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

converting a texas star dx 667v to 11

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by wheelman918, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. Limeybastard

    Limeybastard
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    104
    Mine seems fine, albeit I am not getting a good "swing" into to it. Its the non driver version 500v. I posted in other threads about my issues, basically my radios not matched to it well. Hopefully you will get it sorted soon - sorry to hear about this.

    I would like to upgrade the power wires to 8AWG if possible.


     
    #31 Limeybastard, Aug 19, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2017

  2. Cookie Monster

    Cookie Monster
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im glad yours works well, there may be hope then.
     
  3. Cookie Monster

    Cookie Monster
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    So my new 667V came converted but defective from 718 Electronics. I sent the seller a message and he responded that he'd have a Texas Star tech call me on Monday.
    Defective product does happen, so long as they fix it.
     
  4. 9C1Driver

    9C1Driver
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    667
    Too bad you couldn't return that 667 and get a 500v. The 667 is a cranky beast, they don't like to be over driven and they run hot. New versions now have a mosfet driver instead of the 2290 which I don't like. The 500v is much more user friendly and works with many different radio's.
     
  5. Cookie Monster

    Cookie Monster
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Roger that. Shall see how 718 electronics will work it, now that I know better.
     
  6. Limeybastard

    Limeybastard
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    104
    LOL
    That's the same people I bought it from.
     
  7. Limeybastard

    Limeybastard
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    104
    BTW, I just connected my Dipole, and it was giving me high SWR with the TS500V . The 955 (ive set to) stryker is set to cut power on anything over 2 swr. It beeps and cuts out power, but with amp not inline, no issues.
    So in my case it's one of my antennas, since the other works fine.
     
    #37 Limeybastard, Aug 20, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2017
  8. undertaker

    undertaker
    Expand Collapse
    Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    351
    Limey that is why you buy your stuff from a good shop.. That has been in business for 47 years.. But this particular shop does not sell amps...........
     
    #38 undertaker, Aug 21, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2017
    Limeybastard and StrangeBrew like this.
  9. Limeybastard

    Limeybastard
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    104
    I will moving forward. Dumb mistakes made, I say dumb because, repeating them again makes one dumb. Rant over.
     
    #39 Limeybastard, Aug 21, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2017
  10. Cookie Monster

    Cookie Monster
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    And in good faith I did get a call from a TS service tech today. Now I must package it well and ship it to California for repair.
     
  11. Limeybastard

    Limeybastard
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    104
    Is it in fontana California?

    What was the issue? Relay chatter and high swr?
     
  12. Cookie Monster

    Cookie Monster
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Chatter, unit cuts in and out and high SWR. Sounds like its in C class mode not AB1 on SSB.
    Escondido CA.
     
    Limeybastard likes this.
  13. Cookie Monster

    Cookie Monster
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well so much for the new Texas Star "Galaxy" repair shop. It was sent back with the same problems on SSB. Tinny modulation & Sounds C class not AB1. The chatter they blamed on a loose antenna connector and they tightened it and yes solved the relay chatter. Im now on my own with this.
     
  14. Cookie Monster

    Cookie Monster
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Correction, the chatter is still there when receive amp active.
     
  15. Ranch55

    Ranch55
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    23
    The Texas star amps are generally fairly simple to repair. I have repaired many Texas Star 350V and 500V amps. The Texas Star repair shop runs all the amps on a perfect 50ohm dummy load and do not test them on an antenna. So they can get good performance on their dummy load, but when you connect to an antenna, problems can show up.
    Are you driving the 667 with a low drive radio? I ask because I also do not care for the driver version. But they can be good amps.
    Are you saying that the relays constantly chatter (on and off continuously) when you engage the White receive pre-amp button ? With all other buttons in the OFF position?
     

Share This Page